How to never loose work in Apache OpenOffice

I don’t usually write tutorials in this blog, but since being on the Apache OpenOffice mailing list I think this is something that is commonly addressed. This and file-type configuration. So I think that doing a couple of tutorials on these topics could be a good personal refference for the mailing list.

So here is the tip on how to never loose work in Apache OpenOffice:

  1. Configure auto-Recovery, this will set the option to handle a timer in which the file would be saved periodically.
  2. Enable backup copies.
  3. Enable document properties without saving.

Is important to understand that our biggest enemy on loosing information is ourselves, so we need to fight to future self from ruining our job. Our somewhat lazy practices like forgetting to do regular saves or never save on startup or even, never worry about insertring properties on documents might be some of the reasons to loose work.

So here is some configuration tips that your OpenOffice will need to enable to force future self to deal with.

Go to the Load/Save configuration options located on Tools -> Options. This will give you a dialog that will hold some check boxes, most of them enabled, but not all of them. You can see the save options present some interesting options such as:

  • Edit document properties before saving
  • Always create backup copies
  • Save AutoRecovery information every …. [15] Minutes
Go to Tools -> Options and Load/Save to view this dialog.
Go to Tools -> Options and Load/Save to view this dialog.

The image is pretty self explanatory, I enable this options to be able to a) annoy me, but is a good annoyance. b) save everything.

What this will do is, pop up dialogs asking me to save the document, even new ones. And then it will ask me to insert properties for the document. These conditions will make it so even new documents that have no name will require me to save them. No more blank Untitled documents. After that it will constantly save at a 5 minute threshold instead of the regular 15 minutes. And on top of that, it will save a backup image on your backup folder.

However here is a great Bonus, if you own some cloud service like Dropbox. You might want to edit the backup path (located under General -> Paths) and change the path from the original Backup Path to a directory inside your Dropbox folder (or google drive if thats what you use). This will make your work be saved not only on your desktop but also on the Cloud service, without you thinking about it.

Edit path to a cloud provider.
Edit path to a cloud provider.
Advertisements